Designing my own Eyeshadow Palette Vol. 2 – Makeup Geek

Hey Guys,

Welcome back to my blog and today, I prepared a post about my personalized eyeshadow palette – Vol. 2. If you’re interested in my first post about it, then click here.
So, without further talking, let’s get started!

After strolling a million articles about pressed magnetic pigments, I finally decided to order Makeup Geek’s eyeshadow. I heard so many good things about their quality and pigmentation that I really wanted to try these – btw their color selection is simply amazing!

I picked up six different shades, three matte and three duochrome shadows. Each of them retails for about 5.60€. Their other formula, the foiled eyeshadows (which I haven’t tried yet), retail for 9.40€ are a bit more expensive. The size, compared to my Wycon pans is way smaller and the overall amount of product is „only“ 1.8g.

The Mattes

I decided to purchase one lighter shade for an everyday and natural eye look. However, I wanted to step out of my comfort zone and got two kinda dramatic shades for special looks and occasions.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Crème Brulée – a lighter, brownish color which looks similar to sand – for me this is the perfect crease color.

Morocco – a poppin‘ red orange shade which I use on my entire lid for very dramatic looks.

Cherry Cola – it’s said to be a deep brown with reddish undertones but for me it appears to be a purple-dark brown shade with only a little bit of red to it, it’s perfect for the outer corners of my eyes.

These matte shadows apply so soft on the lid and are really easy to blend. Still, they tend to have a little fall-out (especially the brown one) but if you know how to handle it, the eyeshadows work fine.

The Duochromes

These are my so to speak fun colors, still I can use these on a daily basis if applied alone on the entire lid. Especially now in spring, these are my go-to colors!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Voltage – a citron/vanilla base with sparkly champagne reflections.

I’m Peachless – a rosy base with peach-like reflections.

Mai Tai – A peachy based shadow with pretty pink reflections.

What I really love about these eyeshadows is that they are actually two in one. When applied correctly (and it took me a while to figure that out…) the reflections show up in such a pretty way! I definitely recommend to use an eyeshadow base or the NYX jumbo eye pencil in „milk“ to make the color pop and also wetten your brush before applying the eyeshadow.

Why Makeup Geek?

Overall, I’m really happy with my selection. They apply and look fantastic (if you know their flaws and work against them) and are pretty cheap compared to other brands. Also, when I checked their color selection only I really couldn’t decide on which colors to test as they have so many different shades! Recently, I found out that their products are cruelty-free, they don’t test on animals and the eyeshadows are talc and paraben free (which are usually ingredients in poor quality shadows and can be carcinogenic), if that’s not a great value for money!

Did you already test Makeup Geek eyeshadows? Qhat do you think?

Stay sparkling!

signatur

4 Kommentare zu „Designing my own Eyeshadow Palette Vol. 2 – Makeup Geek

Kommentar verfassen

